food, salmon, teriyaki @ Pixabay

Swedish Fish are not vegan. They contain gelatin, which is typically made from animal collagen and used as a thickening agent. The FDA has given the all-clear for gelatin derived from beef or pork, but their status remains unclear if they come from other animals.

It appears that if they are not beef or pork gelatin, then the fish would be vegan. The packets of Swedish Fish also do list them as being vegetarian-friendly on their nutrition labels. However, this is misleading since it does not mention anything about animal ingredients in manufacturing nor what animals were used to make the gelatin itself.

salmon, herbs, food @ Pixabay

The FDA has given the all-clear for gelatin derived from beef or pork but its status remains unclear if they come from other animals. It appears that if they are not beef or pork gelatin, then the fish would be vegan and there may actually be a chance that Swedish Fish can still rightfully call themselves vegan friendly! Swedish Fish are NOT VEGAN because just like most products containing.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here